top of page


sonic apricity is a new-music duo comprised of violinist Erik Rohde and violist Jacob Tews.  Though they have collaborated in various musical contexts for more than 15 years, in 2015 Rohde and Tews saw a neglected area of chamber music repertoire which they wanted to fill. With a presentation at the American Viola Society national conference as an initial public performance, sonic apricity was formed for a specific purpose: the group is dedicated to uncovering and commissioning new works by living composers for violin and viola, performing them alone and in full recitals alongside more established pieces.

The duo’s first commissioned piece was from American composer Christopher Walczak (commissioned for the 2016 American Viola Society Festival), titled Flashing Forward Thinking Back. They continue efforts to highlight unexpected works for this combination, and regularly collaborate with living composers.

In May of 2019 they will serve as guest ensemble-in-residence for the Alba International Music Festival Composition Program.


Handel/Halvorsen - Passacaglia in G Minor for Violin and Viola

Handel/Halvorsen - Sarabande con variazione for Violin and Viola

Lowell Liebermann - Duo for Violin and Viola, Op. 4

W. A. Mozart - Duo for Violin and Viola No. 1 in G Major, K. 423

Bohuslav Martinů - Madrigals, H. 313

Erzsébet Szőnyi - Duo for Violin and Viola

Jacob Tews - in darkness sojourned*

Augusta Read Thomas - Rumi Settings

Lloyd Ultan - Dialogues No. 3 for Violin and Viola

Christopher Walczak - Flashing Forward Thinking Back*

* sonic apricity commission

sonic apricity: About
bottom of page