top of page


sonic apricity is a new-music duo comprised of violinist Erik Rohde and violist Jacob Tews. The group is dedicated to uncovering and commissioning new works by living composers for violin and viola, performing them alone and in full recitals alongside more established pieces.

​The duo’s first commissioned piece was from American composer Christopher Walczak (commissioned for the 2016 American Viola Society Festival), titled Flashing Forward Thinking Back. They continue efforts to highlight unexpected works for this combination, and regularly collaborate with living composers.

In May of 2019 they will serve as guest ensemble-in-residence for the Alba International Music Festival Composition Program.

more about sonic apricity



home: Bio

Bach Concerto for Two Violins, II. Largo ma non troppo

Lili Boulanger: Nocturne

Bach 300: Partita No. 3 in E Major, Bourrée and Giga

home: Videos
sonic apricity logo.jpg


Please fill out the form if you'd like to send us a message.
We would love to hear from you!

Thanks for submitting!

home: Contact
bottom of page